Cathy’s Story of Kidnapping, Rape, Abuse and Cover-up~Part II

This is the continues from Part 1 of Cathy’s Story.
I twice attended Bob Jones University (BJU), a fundamentalist Christian college in South Carolina. I went for the first time in the 1980’s. After leaving BJU the first time, I went to a community college and received my nursing degree.  For reasons I won’t go into here, I moved to South Carolina. I wanted to get my Bachelors of Science in Nursing. Unfortunately, many of my credits from BJU would not transfer to other colleges. However, if I went back to BJU as  town student, was promised those credits would allow me to obtain my BSN relatively quickly. I did not realize how intrusive BJU was in its student’s lives, even those  living off of the Greenville campus. During that time, I became severely depressed and experience extreme PTSD symptoms associated with the depression. I did not understand what was happening to me. But my most severe emotional problems were magnified when I went to Jim Berg for counseling while still a student at BJU.
In Jim Berg’s view, as I soon found out, people who had problems such as depression and PTSD were “un-spiritual” (his word, not mine). In the IFB world, depression is a sin. Taking medication for depression only covered sin. I plummeted into a even deeper depression. In June of 1996, during my last counseling appointment with Berg, he told me,
“I can’t help you, no one can help you, not even God can help you,”
because I was not making fast enough progress and still
“deep in the sin of depression.”
Will not begin to deny that I was having some serious issues.  Unfortunately, being discouraged from taking medications for these issues did not help. I am by no means proud of this, but I went home from this appointment and overdosed on medication. I realize that it was clearly a bad choice, and that was wrong. I was not thinking clearly, I was angry and in deep emotional pain. Of course, I was admitted to the hospital.
While I was in the hospital, I received a letter from Jim Berg stating,
“I hate to add more to your concerns, but this all comes from the consequences of your own actions, as a result you will not be allowed to continue as a student at BJU. I pray that God will break you of your sin of self-sufficiency and stubbornness and make you a usable vessel for Him.”
Fortunately, I received in the hospital the medical care and kind of counseling I needed from the beginning.  To add insult to injury, I was chastised by the IBF church affiliated with BJU (the same church Jim Berg attended at the time) because I was receiving counseling from a psychiatrist and licensed therapist.  In the view of the IFB church, secular therapy was wrong, and therefore sinful.  I was mortified to realize that Berg betrayed my confidential talks with him by “sharing” my situation with the pastoral staff, family members, and others in this church and at BJU as well.  In my opinion, Jim Berg made himself out to be “a great caring, godly, humble fellow” who tried at the best of his God-given ability to “lovingly” guide me to “trust God.” This betrayal of my confidence began a of a painful and difficult process of leaving the church and my circle of friends and family. When  I finally decided to leave my IBF church, I was especially afraid to leave because of intimidation, pressure, and threats of Divine Judgment. I was harassed by well-meaning church and family members. I was also pursued by not so well-meaning church leaders. Eventually, as former member, I was publicly chastised and humiliated before the church.  Unless it was to talk to me about the “errors of my ways,” members were discouraged from any association with me.  It seemed that all my friends and most of my support system went up as it were a poof of smoke when they were needed the most.
© 2011 Catherine Harris

11 thoughts on “Cathy’s Story of Kidnapping, Rape, Abuse and Cover-up~Part II

  1. These people let Cathy down, but they did not just let her down. These people heaped onto her troubles, blaming her and offering toxic “solutions”. This advice encourages one to stuff down and hide all depression, to act counter being open and hones, thus stifling one’s spirit or psyche. They tried to kill her, and nearly succeeded. Had they done so, the mantra would have been “Satan had a hold of her”.
    Disgusting.
    I applaude Cathy Harris for the hutzpah it took to leave the IFB.

  2. I agree with Cat. What a sad story. Cathy is a strong and very courageous woman, and I feel so proud of her.
    I’m so glad she is so unselfishly channeling her pain to help so many others.

  3. This nouthetic counseling is a MAJOR undertaking – especially in the IFB-like circles. Even some of the Presby circles. I can’t even begin to speak on how many people were tortured in the IFB-like churches and then almost completely damaged because of nouthetic counselors

  4. An amazing and sad story of how the narrow world of only using the bible to understand people and their problems (depression is not a moral issue but is a biological one) can put the lives of people at risk.

    The best advice I ever received that breaks the back of this hyper-idolatry of the bible, and the myth that it alone is to be the only source of understanding people, came from an old Episcopal priest who befriended me during a dark time of my own soul 32 years ago. WHen I launched into all my pre-recorded fundy rant about how we must base everything we do on “God’s Word,” and that “truth” can only be found in the bible. He calmly replied, “I’ve always believed that all ‘truth’ is ‘God’s truth'” His words floored me. He short-circuited my fundy think: what he said made sense. If something is true, then it doesn’t matter if it’s not in the bible. God is not limited to showing people true things about the world, the human body and our mental aspects only in the bible. And fundamentalist don’t believe that. all knowledge is only to be found in the bible . . except when it comes to mental health issues (which are actually someone’s brain isn’t working properly due to chemical imbanlances or perhaps injury). In the case of mental health, they discount any reserch or ideas because psychology poses as a potential threat to the authority of fundamentalist preachers. It says that someone else may know things about the inner workings of humans that “he” knows nothing about; and it does.

    The bible makes no such absolute universal assumptions that the only things we are to know and understand are to be found in scripture alone. Such an idea appeals to people because it is simple and requires you to not have to wrestle with new information or even bother thinking. Fundy preachers like it because they can keep recycling their old sermons with the same punch lines of unfounded assertions without having to do any further thinking or research. It is reassuring to the audience (I use the word ‘audience’ instead of ‘congregation’ because I feel that so much of fundy preaching is actually theater like in its emotional impact. . . of course, in a theater, you know the lines the actors are speaking are just entertainment and not to be taken seriously. . .not so with the fundy preacher who believes all the crap “he” is laying claim to expert about) because it is all very familiar, explanatory and predictable about what is supposedly happening to them. . . but just like snake oil salesmen of the Old West, people can be reassured and feel good about drinking poison but the poison is still going to kill them in their bliss.

    I’ve written the first couple of sections of a series on Ex-Christian.net: “The Dangers of Biblical Counseling” by Larry C. You might want to read some of my experiences when I was very young and I was trying to get help for a female friend of mine. . . .it wasn’t BJU (thought at time this female did attend Tenn. Temple in Chattanooga at), but the pastoral counselor I took her to was a Jay Adams’ follower and was only going to use the bible as a reference for how to help this woman who had psychosis. And the only way she he could interpret her odd thoughts and psychosis was that she had “demons”. So he told her that and attempted to cast them out in his office after about 20 minutes of interviewing her (pretty damn quick diagnosis wouldn’t you say?).

  5. Pingback: Heartache in the face of injustice. « Stitching up the Seams

  6. Pingback: Cathy’s Story of Kidnapping, Rape, Abuse and Cover-up~Part III « chucklestravels

  7. Cathy — I went to this church, too…and I left, too. I saw them treat my dad as though he had a sin problem when what he had was a complicated, undiagnosed disease that bankrupted my family. My dad died from this disease going on 5 years ago, and the week he died was the first and last time the so-called pastor of the church stepped through our doorway.

    I am sorry to hear about your story…and sorry to realize that we were probably at this church at the same time (Maybe? 1993-2007 for me), and I didn’t know you. If you read this comment, feel free to email me. If you’re still in Greenville, maybe we can grab coffee.

  8. Pingback: Cathy’s Story of Kidnapping, Rape, Abuse and Cover-up~Part 1 « chucklestravels

  9. Pingback: Cathy’s Story – Kidnapping, Rape, Abuse and Cover-up – Part 2 « Religion's Cell

  10. Pingback: Willful Ignorance and Brave Responses « chucklestravels

Thoughts?